Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Summer Prep

2004-04-21 - 2:06 p.m.

Got all Harriet Homeowner last night. Went to Sears to prepare for summer heat in the new house. Got a small room HEPA filter to bring down the pollen problem from sleeping with the windows open. Got a box fan and a huge, heavy-duty fan. Even got a little mini weber grill so I can cook out back when it's just too bleedin hot to swelter in the kitchen.

When I got home I worked on assembling the grill. They had IKEA-style directions: pictures and no words, so nothing telling you when you have a vital piece upside-down. As usual, I put the whole thing together fine and then realized it looked weird. The little legs were on the wrong way round so it wasn't as stable as it ought to be. Shoulda been a quick fix, so I took it apart to do again. Somehow a screw popped off in the process and promptly slipped through a hole in the space-time continuum, or somewhere into my cat perhaps, and vaporized. I tore the room apart. W came over and tore the room apart with me. It's NOT THAT BIG A ROOM. Still, screw's hiding. So I'm screwed, except not...well. Anyway. I called Weber today and pretended there wasn't one in the box, so it's on its way to me. Their service folks were great. I hope they're as calm when people call up saying they've just set fire to their pants in a freak lighter fluid incident.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!