Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

the ball

2003-01-13 - 12:05 p.m.

I think my pheromones were on overload Friday. I'm not used to pulling a crowd like that.

Saturday began with such clarity. Not much had to be done except getting ready to go out that night, so that's mostly all I bothered to do for the day. The toenails went red. So did the nails. I'm not a red person...really I'm more of a burgundy or black, but it worked. It was a change. It's all costuming anyway, right? I put on my kick-ass boots and strode into Mac to get THE red lipstick. Black leather boots, dark shades and red lipstick...that's the combination to feeling powerful. I'd forgotten that.

Music on, makeup, stockings and sliding into the red shimmery gown as he made his way to my door, freshly shaved and pressed.

He asked me to dance just as it was on the tip of my tongue to ask him. Twice.

Much as the day began with clarity, it ended in a fog. We left the ball early, cinderella-like, and went off to a party. Laughter and vodka and the keys thrown into the corner when we knew we were going nowhere. Curling up on the floor to sleep and the warmest thing around was you.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!