Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Wake-up call

2004-07-27 - 3:47 p.m.

Monday 5:something in the morning, I wake to the sound of a dog barking. And barking. Big-dog barks, in sets of 5-8 barks, with a couple of seconds to pause in between before the next set. Visualize if you will my foggy self looking through half-closed eyes at the cat, who appears to be just as puzzled as I am. I grab the alarm clock and pull it close enough to my face to confirm that yes, it is truly an hour that shouldn't exist. The cat mrrrped at me and decided it wasn't time to drag me out of bed yet and settled back down, looking vaguely annoyed.

When I got up at almost 7:00, he was still barking.

Fast-forward to this morning. Again, 5:-- on the wrong side of the day, and the barking commences again. 5 barks. 7 barks. 5 barks. 8 barks. Cat and I are verrrry annoyed this time. At 6:00, it's still going and I finally give up, pull on clothes and head outside to figure out whose dog it is.

Sure enough, it's the dog that just moved in next door. And he wasn't even outside. gah. With visions of neighbor confrontations and noise ordinances in my head, I stumbled back to bed.

About 6:30 I started banging on the wall like an old lady. Considering the masonry construction of the houses, covered with plaster, I still managed to get some thumping going with my fist. I don't think they were at home.

And now, I don't think I'm going to be home til late tonight, so it doesn't look like I'll get to talk with them about the barking yet.

If I didn't have neighbors on the other side, I think I would get into some thrash polka with the volume turned up to 11.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!