Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Weekend wrap-up

2004-11-08 - 10:03 a.m.

Why exactly do I feel so surprised that it was actually a nice weekend?

Friday night W had to work and I ended up with a last-minute get-together with 2 friends and some of their friends-of-friends at a fun show at a coffeehouse right down the street from where they filmed The Blob to see a funny, ranty folk singer. Late, I met up with W and spent much of the next 12 hours comatose. It's been months since we got to sleep in like that. Up at noon and made breakfast before he headed out to work and I took off to shop a little, meet a friend for coffee, and generally relax for a nice mellow day.

Saturday night my friend took me to catch George Carlin. Was my first time seeing him. Really needed all that laughter.

Sunday I was fairly productive with periodic bursts of relaxation. Hit Home Depot and Trader Joe's, had breakfast at a little cafe while I started a new book, ran a couple of other errands, put up curtains in my kitchen, did laundry, planted a bunch of crocus bulbs in my backyard (naturalizing, don'tcha know) and even got in a quick doze.

Sunday night I got to get all primped and spiffed for dinner on the town with friends. We all sampled 5 different amazing seafood dishes and then I had a "fallen lemon souffle" with pistachio ice cream and pistachio brittle. Wow. They perched a lone birthday candle right on the edge of the plate as a belated celebration; I took the opportunity to issue a revised birthday wish since over half the voting population of the U.S. blocked me from getting the one birthday wish I made Tuesday. Maybe I'll have a little more luck with this one.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!