Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

skip dinner, do not collect $200

2005-10-05 - 11:37 a.m.

Somewhat chaotic directing session at the volunteer gig last night. It was my second mentored session in which I observe the director for the first half and then direct for the second half. However, based on the nature of the content, my first mentoring session didn't really give me much chance to practice anything so this one was really like my first time.

The director was having an off night so we had a bit of a jumbled start to things. Between the two of us we managed to catch all the early errors and edit them fine. However, during the session in which I was directing I made a heavy flub that we didn't discover for quite some time. We had to call over an expert to do some more extensive editing and it still left a minor blip in the sound that she couldn't delete. Urgh. I felt awful, but at least we didn't have to rerecord the several pages we'd done after the flub. I'll definitely do one more mentoring session before I solo. Still looking forward to being able to audition to be a reader instead of a director...much more up my alley. Learned a ton from last night's reader.

After that I skipped dinner and just curled up with a book (weird, but periodically causing my brain to churn with interesting ideas) and the cat for the rest of the night. Well, the cat when he wasn't biting me. That's his typically wound-up method of initiating play.

Crazy morning at work so far, but productive. I'm also kicking my own butt on things I've been procrastinating on. Even set up a hair appointment and a...gah!...dentist appointment. Tonight I'm off to see A History of Violence downtown. Gotta love cheap move night and dollar parking in the city.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!