Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

10-27-2005

2005-10-28 - 9:09 a.m.

Yesterday instead of heading to the office I got dolled out in all black and headed over to the senior center. Managed to realize halfway there that I'd forgotten some things I really needed at home so had to turn around, thus winding up late enough that I couldn't stop for coffee. Eek! Now that's scary.

We decorated two rooms for the haunted house. I donned a skull mask that pumps blood over the surface and some glow-in-the-dark skeleton gloves. I moaned, growled, snarled and frothed appropriately to amuse some and creep out others. The blood was a particular success.

Lunchtime found us in the cafeteria, sharing stewed tomatoes and mashed potatoes. I chatted with a sweet woman who'd been coming to the center for 19 years, mostly when they had a good speaker in. The 4-piece band set up and started playing standards for the movers and groovers. We took polaroids of the seniors. Many of the women wanted to pose with our tall, suave guy from HR who was dressed as a pimp, including a woman who was sending the photo to her son, who's training to be a priest. She giggled that he'll have to say an extra prayer for her, but then he always does. Many of the men wanted pictures with our witches. One man took one look at a girl in a devil costume and declared that when he gets to hell he wants to date her.

I'd had a raging headache all day, I think sparked by my neck but aggravated I am sure by the lack of caffeine, so afterwards I headed home, washed down some Aleve with a pint of coffee, and crashed out for an hour or so. Felt much better by the time I got up.

Spent the evening with some friends, a married couple. They have the kind of marriage I fantasize of for myself and for everyone I know. It's wonderful to be around them and know that sort of relationship actually can exist. Hadn't seen them in ages so we had piles to catch up on. Was a warm, cozy evening of conversation by the fire with a sweetheart of a greyhound soaking up all the attention I could hand out.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!