Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

15 hours to nano

2005-10-31 - 8:44 a.m.

With nanowrimo looming, followed by a trip to Europe, I realized I've got to do some serious planning to handle holiday preparations. So in a freakish show of planning and responsibility the likes of which have rarely passed through me, I actually started Christmas shopping and my Christmas cards this weekend. The DSL made the shopping so much easier this year. I've ordered half a dozen or so things so far. It's a start.

I had boatloads of laundry to catch up on and finally put away my summer clothes and dragged out the rest of the winter clothes. It doesn't make any sense to me, but the winter clothes seem to fit in my room much better than the summer ones. Shouldn't things like sweaters take up more room? I guess I am just a t-shirt junkie and have way more of them than I need. While I was at it, though, I did rearrange a bit in the (teeny) closet and my armoire so it's easier to get to the stuff I actually wear the most. Nifty. Now if I can get around to taking a load to the drycleaner I'll be all set.

Had to redo my temporary haircolor again, trying to keep the blonde toned down while it grows out. It's a slightly different shade again and is now truly brown instead of blonde-brown. At least for now. As it washes out, it'll lighten up again. It's going to take me a while before I get used to it and stop being startled when I catch my image in the mirror.

Had a great catchup with 2 of my cousins last night. Three-way calling is a beautiful thing. It's been hard keeping up with each other now that we're in three different states. I think we need to institute these as regular calls. Can you chain together more lines using multiple people's 3-way calling feature? If so, maybe we can add a couple others into the call too. Family conference calling.

One nifty thing that came up was that my cousin, her boyfriend and daughter who are heading up to NYC for Thanksgiving have a spare ticket to see Wicked the night before turkey day. So I'm going to meet up with them there to see the show. Okay, so it's crazy continuing to take on more things during nano month, but I've never seen a show in New York and I've really wanted to see Wicked. Will be lots of fun to see it with them. Can't wait! So that's two day trips to NYC in November. Just need to figure out the best way to get there and back on the busiest travel day of the year.

SEPTA's on strike so it should be interesting seeing how crazy the city is when I go in town tonight. I imagine the cab drivers are loving it. I saw some folks sitting at the bus stop this morning on my way to work. I don't quite understand why as I thought all the busses, subways and trolleys had stopped. They may just be waiting a verrry long time. The last strike went for 40 days.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!