Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

11-7-2005 Weekend Catchup

2005-11-07 - 10:25 a.m.

Friday night I got home and discovered the lovely dog next door was on one of his famous barking jags. He barked for an hour and a half until his owners finally, blessedly came home. I'd not been able to write more than a few words during that time since I just couldn't focus, but instead ended up digging out some Chinese leftovers and watching some shows I'd taped. I've all but stopped watching live TV since I can get through shows much faster when I can skip the commercials.

Saturday I got on the road even before I'd planned and holed up at a B&N for a while to write.

Next up was a catchup with some folks I've known since I was 4. I've kept up with him all along, even worked for him for a while, but I'd not seen her since I was probably 13 or 14 years old. They're now living in a beautiful condo on the water and we walked over to a little dock bar for lunch and a catchup. If you can ever get your hands on lobster mac and cheese, I'd say don't miss out.

Next I was off to see my grandparents, two uncles and an aunt. There was a big dinner at the Elk's Club (Do I know how to party or what?!). Dinner wasn't so keen for a seafood and veg eater, but the company was excellent. Some people thought I was married to my uncle, though, so that was strange if amusing.

Spent the night at my Mom's place, slept on and off through George Carlin's newest special on HBO thanks to a long day and a crashing headache. Apparently my folks found my snoozing more amusing than his act. We did have some good laughs through SNL's special featuring some of their ads from over the years.

Sunday my sister and I took my mom to see Evita as a belated birthday gift to her. Turned out the show sucked, but we had a fun time out anyway. Dinner with my folks at a little Mexican joint before heading home. Just beat the storms to the house. There was some spectacular lightning in the distance during the last 10 minutes of my drive, but I was inside before the rain hit.

Only got a brief writing session in this morning before work, but every bit counts. I'm at 6,360...still way behind, but it's already the longest thing I've written.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!