Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

calamari in the shade of the octopus

2005-11-08 - 8:52 a.m.

Last night I went downtown to catch a free reading of a play, Pro Bono Publico by Peter Morris. I headed out straight after work so had time to burn once I got downtown. I stopped into a little pizza joint for a bite to eat and then lingered at a wine bar with a glass of red, gazing at the giant octopus sculpture that takes up most of their ceiling. The bartender served the couple across the bar a basket of calamari, which made me have to fight back a case of the giggles.

The play was funny and chock full of creatively biting insults and clever turns of phrase. Good company, good entertainment. That's the way to spend an evening.

This morning I finally passed the 7,000 word mark (just barely...I'm at 7,008 words), which means I'm moving forward by am still dearly behind schedule -- about 4,700 words behind schedule in fact. I'm volunteering tonight so likely won't make my word count today either.

At least I've finally gotten past the stuck point I was in Sunday and Monday. I seem to have finally gotten the story moving again. My character's in a stagnant place, but that's where she's supposed to be right now, so strangely enough that is actually progress.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!