Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Looking for a jumpstart

2005-11-15 - 8:45 a.m.

Last night I managed to have a work errand in my neighborhood so got a jump on rush hour traffic. It felt like a bonus getting home earlier than usual.

I decided to cook up some dinner right away because I knew what would happen if I didn't. My cupboards are not exactly bare, but are a bit haphazard and thin in spots due to an extremely overdue grocery trip, and I knew that if I delayed I would find it far too easy to talk myself into Chinese delivery instead of cooking.

Considering the state of the cupboards, clearly a dish that'll take a little bit of this and a little bit of that was called for. I found a jar of Punjab spinach sauce and threw it together with some chick peas, paneer and mixed veggies. Popped some jasmine rice on the other burner and the house was fragrant in no time.

While I finally finished up my audition scripts (and even did some online xmas shopping), I only managed a couple of paragraphs on the novel. I just didn't feel like I had any place to take it. Must do some thinking today to get it jumpstarted again. There's this definite pattern that feels a lot like driving a car with a weak battery. Once it gets going, you're good for a while and it doesn't seem like there was any power shortage at all. But then one day you turn the key and get nothing. I have jumper cables but sometimes it takes a while to flag down a passing car.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!