Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

11-22-2005 Packing a Wallop

2005-11-22 - 9:09 a.m.

One of my favorite local breweries, Victory, makes a beer year-round called Hop Devil. I love the devil. I'm a true devotee. But I'd heard tale of a seasonal beer they make for only a short time in the autumn called Hop Wallop. I've been itching to try it for some time to the point where, had it been on tap when I went to brunch Sunday, I'd have been having beer with my eggs.

Last night the drive home was long, jammed and bleary with rain and I decided to stop off at my local for a pint. I figured they were a likely candidate to carry the Wallop and, if they didn't, at least they'd have a good alternate like a Dead Guy Ale.

Well, good people, I'm here to tell you they named that sucker appropriately, both on its incredible hoppiness and its sincere wallopness (weighing in at 8.5%). Wow. It's a thing of beauty. The bartender estimated they'll only have it for another week or maybe two, tops. I am thinking I may need to pick up a case before it's gone, though I rarely go through enough beer at the house to make that worthwhile. At least I can bring six-packs along for dinners and events. (Hint: invite me along...I'll bring good beer)

The pub was also in the midst of happy hour so the pints of said wallopness were a whopping $2. Can't beat that.

Wrote a little before work today. I'm busily revising my goals. 50k is right out, but I am thinking if I really push I might be able to make 25-30k. Gonna give it a try!

I can't believe I'm booked every night for the next two weeks. Crazy. Volunteering tonight, tomorrow night in NYC for Wicked, Thursday to MD for Thanksgiving, three days of writers' weekend, a girls' night, more volunteering, packing and then off to the Netherlands. Blur!!

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!