Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

the holidays descend

2005-12-15 - 11:26 a.m.

Despite my attempts to start early, I'm still not really prepared for xmas yet. Why do I get so wrangled into participation in a holiday despite not being into its religious or commercial aspects? I don't get it. Heavy levels of family and social expectations I suppose. I always think of it more as just traditions, but even that part feels odd. I built my traditions, then they sorta went kablooie. I've had nine years of alternate traditions and they still feel like temporary stand-ins somehow.

Getting more writing assignments at work these days and I've been able to really crank on most of them. Feels good. Have a longish year-end/holiday letter to write for the head of the company this afternoon, but I've got it somewhat roughed out already, so it shouldn't be too bad.

Hoping to duck away at lunch and start on some reading for the screenwriting competition. Nothing quite like the first script of the season! This one's assembled uniquely too. For some reason instead of fastening the pages together with brass brads, they used nuts and bolts. Never seen that before.

The skies are heavy as we're expecting a rain/snow mix today. Shouldn't accumulate much, but the roads are due to be all sortsa icy by rush hour.

Tonight I'm interviewing cats for the open position of secondary feline at my house. Hopefully there'll be somebody furry around before new year's!

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!