Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

elbow-to-elbow heart-to-hearts

2005-12-19 - 11:13 a.m.

So the rest of the weekend, after restoring heat to my freakishly old and drafty home and sopping up the floody puddles and having pizza and beer with a friend whilst we mooned the wonderfulness of Maggie Gyllenhaal...

Saturday I sat down with a mug of coffee and made up an attack plan for the day. I made notes of various errands I needed to do and wrote down the list of presents I still needed to find. I found piles of wondrous things, both as gifts and for myself. I know, I know...you're not supposed to shop for yourself before Christmas, but it's not like I have anyone in my life who's going to buy me black stockings with the seams up the back, and clearly they're necessities. As was the case of special, limited-edition beer for which I've fallen. (Okay, two cases, but only one's for me. The other I am holding hostage until a friend finishes writing his script. We all need incentives.)

After a full day of shopping in which I magically avoided much of the crowded obnoxiousness of typical holiday shopping, I was off to meet a kitten. He's adorable, cuddly, and crazy-playful. So he's mine. He's just got to go back for his last set of shots and then I'm gonna bring him home after Christmas. He's gonna give my massive cat a run for his money.

Saturday night I cracked a Victory Hop Wallop and wrapped a zillion presents.

Sunday morning I ran a couple more errands while we heathens had the stores to ourselves and then spent most of the day baking and doing laundry. Modified a few recipes and have new changes to try next time. Wound up the day at Eulogy for Arrogant Bastard and Stella and a long-overdue catchup with a friend. There's just something wonderful about elbow-to-elbow heart-to-hearts. Pubs rule.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!