Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

This entry brought to you by the fabulous letter F

2005-12-16 - 10:59 p.m.

So I threw a coupla pies today, and not all at once. Kept a couple in reserve for next week. Not bad for a workday.

My big project for the day came later. Last night I discovered long about midnight that my heat wasn't working. A few minutes' exploration of my ancient gas furnace led me to realize I know squat about gas furnaces and couldn't figure out what the heck I was doing to track down how (much less where) to relight the pilot. I felt ridiculous but decided not to risk blowing the place up for stubborness' sake.

So that meant finding someone with a clue who also happened to be free enough and nice enough to come help. I got ahold of a friend on my way home. I told him I'd call him back when I got home and he said he'd try to talk me through it.

When I got home and headed into the basement with my lighter and wireless phone, I discovered that the basement flooded today and I had gallons of puddles to mop up. Fabulous! And freakishly fragrant. Eww.

After a while he realized there was no way he could talk me through the relighting so he headed over. Nice to have friends who don't give you a hard time for complete and utter ignorance. He beat the furnace into submission and we spent the rest of the evening watching Happy Endings and having some pizza and beer. Those pounds I've been wanting to lose? Yeah, so not gonna be happening in the next week or two. The pizza was great. And hey, it was filling enough that I stayed out of the cookies, so that's good, right?

Flooding and freaky furnace in the same night. I've said it before, but I do know how to party.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!