Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

12-20-2005 running on fumes

2005-12-20 - 5:00 p.m.

It's kind of fun being 33 and being the one a number of people in my office turn to for my industry experience. Yet somehow I still flip people out when they hear about some of the experiences I had prior to the industry.

I think it comes down to the fact that folks figure on people being in school until they're in their early to mid-twenties before they start their careers. I got the jump-start launching into full-time work before I turned 18. And it doesn't hurt the career diversity to have jumped from an ice cream shop to NASA. :)

I managed to drive down my gas tank to the lowest I think it's ever been. It took nearly 13.5 gallons at the pump today and I think it's a 13.5 gallon tank. eep. Running on fumes! Now it's back to full and happy.

Still have a few packages to wrap and then several things to cook on my day off Friday, but in general it's been a reasonably well-organized preparation for Christmas this year and less stressful than usual. Two key things were different this year: first, it's the first time in years I wasn't juggling classes at the same time and second, I did well over half my shopping online this year. Loads less hassle!

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!