Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Christmas weekend 2005

2005-12-27 - 2:37 p.m.

Friday: Breezed through the market. Wrapped last few presents. Baked afreakinmazing chocolate cake, two loaves of Hop Wallop beer bread, and made a red and green tortellini salad. Finished my preparations so well that I granted myself the night off and headed into town. Stopped by for a bit of a folk show by some friends, shared some ale with R as we listened, and then took off by myself to see Brokeback Mountain. Stopped at the top of the parking garage to gaze out at the twinkling lights on the Delaware River.

Saturday: Up early to pack up and head out to Maryland. Nice day with my folks, sister, her boyfriend, and my two beyond-cool nephews. We opened presents. We played games. The nephews and I took up the whole family room playing Dance Dance Revolution together. We ate dinner though we had to lie to the little one to tell him some smoked turkey was ham. The ham refused to cook in time and he stubbornly insists he doesn't like turkey, but he cleared his plate in a novel display of actual ingestion. Hugs goodbye from the boys and then I spent the night at Mom's, where we watched the lame Christmas with the Kranks by the lights of the tree.

It was afternoon Christmas before we finally finished opening presents and I jumped in the shower to get myself together. Headed off to my aunt's for the big family gathering and some long-overdue time with the fam. Our 3rd annual tacky ornament exchange was a big hit. Grandad received Cosmo, the gay, cocktail-wielding merman not once but twice. Two different cousins brought him as their ornament. Obviously a lot of my weirdness runs in the family.

Later a few of us headed back to my cousin's for wine, Napoleon Dynamite and Legos. My family, did I mention how much they rule?

Monday. Well, then there was Monday. You know when someone looks particularly down, people who think themselves witty will say, "You look like you just lost your best friend?" Well, the way I look right now is the complete opposite of that.

Working on some editing and writing today during this quiet day at work. Read a good chunk of a mediocre script at lunch. After volunteering tonight I'm picking up my new kitten.

What a difference a year makes...

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!