Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Back to the Tao

2006-01-20 - 9:47 a.m.

Last night lying in bed
curled on my side
I read the Tao again.
again
A tiny copy
full of underlines
and circles.
My second copy --
one before the fire
one after --
one of the books
I knew from the beginning
I would need again
again

Last night I read
until the book fell
from my hand
and closed on the floor.

wei wu wei

With the same hand
I pulled the glasses
from my eyes
and bumped the arms closed
with the tip of my nose
click, click
in optical embrace and symmetry
I left them at the ready
in the glow of the clock

My other hand
left the warmth of the cat's back
just long enough
so I could stretch that arm
to reach the lightswitch
and let the dark
and the blankets
settle back down

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!