Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

tax day

2006-04-09 - 4:02 p.m.

Phew. Well, taxes are about done. Just have to track down the address to send one of the four sets of returns.

Yes, four.

See, I get the usual joy of federal and state returns plus the extra bonus joy of returns to now two different returns for earned income. Our local taxes used to go to one spot, where they'd then get split between the borough and the school district. Now the school district's being pissy and all of us have to file separate returns to the borough and the school district. Because of course extra paperwork and processing is an efficient use of time for our school district (and us poor taxpayers). It's not like we're paying them to spend their time TEACHING or anything...really I want to spend my tax dollars so the school district can now have to process completely redundant returns. Yup, that makes lots of sense. I think this program must be...

NO TAXPAYER LEFT BEHIND.

As usual, I get a bit of a federal refund, zero out on state, but owe most of my federal refund in local taxes. My company doesn't withhold the locals so I have a hit every year. They let you choose whether to pay year-end or quarterly, but have I ever gotten around to installment payments each quarter? Hells no. Get real.

Now to try to talk myself out of a nap. I'm not sure that's gonna work.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!