Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

vacation snapshots

2006-05-25 - 4:11 p.m.

Holy crap I've been productive today. Vacation = motivation.

Have you seen the $100 laptop? Sooooo cute. Man, would be great to make something like that commmercially, too. The project is a wondrous idea and I wish them tons of luck in it. However I worry a bit about one reader's concerns...that bunches of these are going to end up on ebay instead of in the hands of those who need them.

Still, covet. I would take a laptop with ears like that any day.

Today I am thinking back on some favorite vacation moments.

Times like a January in New Orleans, peering through wrought iron gates, wandering the streets, getting covered in powdered sugar from the beignets at Cafe du Monde and collapsing in hazy, flu-crazed heaps with usb-port.

Snorkeling through warm, clear waters around the coral reefs of Maho Bay, the long, slow rush of my breathing the only sound in my water-logged ears, the sun hot on the backs of my legs and miles of silent, powdery sand around.

Stopping dead in the street on Piazza Navona, struck by the power of the scent of wisteria from where it cascaded down the buildings.

Hours in Stanley Park, wandering the paths and staring out at the lost lagoon.

Riding the carousel in Central Park on a sunny day.

Picking our way through the Dali Museum in St. Pete.

Whiling away the afternoon with laughter and a bottle of sparkling wine on the terrace of Artesa, gazing out over the rolling hills of Napa.

So many more, but a few more things to wrap up. Will share some new wondrous memories next week I'm sure will be added to the list of images in my mental photo album.

Happy weekends, all around!

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!