Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

The 150 vs. the Purity Test

2005-02-18 - 4:28 p.m.

Ok, so the earlier entry was a bit of a cheater entry, since I didn't actually have to write anything. It reminded me of the days of the infamous Purity Test. If you've never taken it, there are several different versions, from a short number of questions to the more thorough 500-1000 question tests. For quite some time, in and shortly after high school, a group of us took them regularly. We considered the 500-question test to be the definitive one. It was fun to watch people's scores drop, or plummet even when they got a new significant other or hung out with some new people.

One of the questions was "have you ever done anything strictly to lose a purity point?" Of course, most of us ended up turning that one into a yes. Low scores became quite the badge of honor unless they were so low that by process of elimination you knew they'd gotten into some of the grosser questions. Bestiality, anyone? Necrophilia or excrement in the fridge? No thanks!

The conversations resulting from the test were hilarious, much in the same way as those sparked from pulling out The Book of Questions on Love and Sex. And there's nothing quite as entertaining as watching someone trying to sneak a tally mark onto their score sheet without anyone noticing because they want to be truthful but don't want anyone else in the room to notice that they're answering yes to a particularly embarassing question.

I've not taken the test in years, but I already had a "failing" score back then. I expect I hit a big plateau because there were relatively few items left on there I hadn't done that I would actually be willing to do.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!