Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

first practice test

2005-08-05 - 9:28 a.m.

Gave up work at 3:30 yesterday after fighting my red, stinging eyeballs and general malaise. Headed home, ripped out my contacts, tossed back some allergy meds and had a brief nap which abruptly ended with a call from my Mom. Some procrastination ensued in the sweltering heat until I got the bright idea to hit Barnes & Noble to dig up a CLEP Algebra prep book so I could try out some practice tests.

Luckily enough I chose the B&N that was NOT hosting Santorum for a talk. That was blind luck. Apparently a woman I know was attending dressed as a barefoot, pregnant woman wearing a gag. Heeee. But the B&N I hit not only was santorumless and had the book I needed, but it also provided a wondrously air conditioned place to work until I could barely keep my eyes open.

Stayed awake long enough to pick up some fudgesicles on the way home (60 cals of frozen chocolateyness hurrah) and then collapsed in bed. Sure enough I fell asleep during Selected Shorts. Double hurrah for popsicles and bedtime stories.

Up way early again to spend some time at Sbux working on the first practice test. After completing half of it, I discovered:
- I'm doing well better than I thought.
- There's really no need to do the remaining 400-some pages of the textbook I've been working my way through.
- I now know which few types of problems I need to work on.
- I definitely need to focus on working a little faster. This may be helped if I start using a calculator. I'll be able to use one (online) during the exam, so I'll get a more realistic idea of my actual timing if I'm not wasting so much of it doing arithmetic.
- Didn't know about the online calculator. Thought I was going to have to find one to bring, so that's cool.
I'm already hovering right about the passing score, so after I beat out the few types I'm getting stuck on, I should actually be in good shape. Whoo

I've already been productive enough today I feel like I should be able to go home and back to sleep.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!