Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Rocks in my head and a boxed-up bed

2003-11-26 - 8:50 p.m.

We got out of work early today to get a jump on the holiday weekend. Turned out it was a good thing as more chaos broke loose with home repairs related to the mess with the seller. The time off in the afternoon allowed me to make a bunch of phone calls to the agent, my contractor and plumbers. Yup, it's roto-rooter time. Unfortunately I've got to have it done Friday so that means no hanging down home for a few days for the holidays...I'll have to truck back up from MD to PA either Thursday night or Friday morning now. Ah well.

So besides phone calls and such, I read the paper (a rare thing to find time for in my world), did about half or more of the crossword puzzle, went to IKEA, bought a bed (based on what sort would fit in my car, fit up my stairs and didn't have a footboard to whack my feet on when they hang off), assembled said bed while the cat alternately "helped" by lying on the instructions and curling up looking adorable in the cardboard box), made some dinner and actually did a little bit of cleaning up. LITTLE, mind, but some.

You know to worry when the IKEA instructions say you really need two people for the assembly. I mean, even when they don't say that, it can still sometimes be a challenge with only one person. But I managed. If I fall on the floor in the middle of the night, maybe they were right. ;-)

Besides, of course you need a second person to build IKEA furniture. Someone else has to pour the wine.

Think I'm going to go find some mindless movie to watch before crashing in the new bed. Cheers, all.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!