Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

decapitated chicken

2005-05-09 - 3:39 p.m.

Busy weekend! Friday night's key activity was assembling and decorating a strawberry cake I improvised. The stuff I used to use to make wondrous strawberry filling went off the market several years ago and it's darned hard finding suitable non-gelatin replacements. So I decided to wing it and make up my own. It tasted amazing but was WAY more liquidy than I intended. Late in the night I was still mopping up little pink puddles that were collecting on the plate.

It turned out great, though. 4 layers of cake, flavored with a hint of triple sec. Each layer glazed with apricot glaze. Fresh strawberry wonderfulness between each layer, frosting of course and then decorations in homemade butter cream. Yum. Incredibly moist.

Saturday morning ran around the house being productive, even mowed my lawn. Drove down to Maryland for my cousin's bridal shower and subsequent bachelorette party. The shower was a tea party that turned out beautifully.
The bachelorette was at two bars in Baltimore. I saw a haircut that made the mullet look GQ. It was a buzz cut/rat tail combination. The rat tail was about a foot long and wavy. How he ever figured that was a good idea I'll never figure. One cute guy came over to talk right at closing time. I was talking to him for all of a minute or so when one of the girls I was with managed to give him my business card and suggest he call me. Oy! I doubt he will, but he was pretty darned easy on the eyes.

After the bars and breakfast at Denny's the same girl got her hand slammed in the minivan door. It closed all the way on her fingers. Eeeeeeyouch! So the wee hours of the morning were spent getting her to the emergency room and dispersing cars around to get her insurance card and rearrange rides to all the various suburbs. By the time I made it to my mom's place to sleep the sky was getting lighter and the birds started singing.

After 3 hours of sleep I was back up and doing the mother's day thing. We did pedicures at a day spa, a soccer game of my nephew's and then dinner on my sister's deck. Nice day.

Sooooooo distracted getting ready for Jamaica. Two days!!! Will be a decapitated chicken until then because there is much to do! Also picking up my cap and gown today even though I am not walking for graduation. Graduation day is Saturday but I will be at a wedding of two fantastic people instead. Aaah.

Still won't get my diploma for a while though. They'll hold it until I can take and pass that algebra test. Buckling back down into prep for that as soon as I get back from vacation. There is no algebra in Jamaica, mon.

Oh, and a very freaky bit of news...I found out yesterday that my 17-year-old cousin in Washington is in a coma. They do think she will pull through now, but wow how terrible. The last I saw her she was in middle school and it's so hard to imagine this.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!