Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Distraction

2005-04-18 - 2:51 p.m.

Can't stay focused. My head is so full. My Mom's in the hospital. She's been there since early yesterday and we don't know what the problem is yet. We have a few things excluded and a few things that have been deemed low probability, but they are still in test after test mode.

She's a couple of hours away and I'm still in hold mode, trying to determine if/when to go down there. At first I was figuring that if they had to do the surgery they'd contemplated today that I'd go then. Now that that seems to be off, I don't really know what triggers to use for making the go/no go decision. Work's of course freakish right now, boss is offsite, and I'm not sure how best to juggle all of this.

We're doing lots of phone tag, which has been made all the more entertaining by the fact that my sister lost her voice from a cold.

Saw a great documentary Saturday called "After Innocence" about people who have been set free by DNA evidence after having been wrongly imprisoned for years. It's so wrong that we have all the systems in place to provide parolees with health care, job training, job placement assistance, housing assistance, and money to get back on track but that there is not a penny or a bit of help available for people who've been wrongly imprisoned for 10, 15, 20-some years to help them get back on their feet. We don't even compensate them for the ridiculous legal fees they've paid to try to prove their innocence. Over 90% have lost all their assets, over 30% have lost custody of children and over half have no health care. Way to go protecting the guilty and turning our backs on the innocent we've trampled on. Lovely.

Saturday night: professional women's football. Yes, tackle. Was quite interesting, but Massachusetts absolutely killed Philly.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!