Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

DIY weekend

2005-07-05 - 9:28 a.m.

There's a brand of cat food named Sophisticat. I think they're trying to imply that eating it will make my cat sophisticated. But secretly I hope it will turn my cat into a sophist.

Spent most of the weekend doing little projects around the house. I've fallen far behind on the house since I've been away so much lately. I finally finished painting the kitchen cabinets. I painted my workbench (which is only a workbench in the technical sense...as it is in my icky basement I am unlikely to use it as a workbench often, so it mostly just holds my laundry gear). I unearthed, repaired and painted the floor by a doorframe. It's nowhere near perfect, but I'm pretty stunned with what a big difference such a little repair made. Cleaned up the back porch. Fixed my tacky mailbox (so it's still tacky but looks somewhat less white trash now). Laundered the shower curtain liner and the kitchen rug. Did other smatterings of cleaning, though no actual straightening, so it doesn't look much like I did.

I tried to fix the doorbell, but it turns out mine was wired instead of wireless so will require a bit of help or a clue.

I think next thing up will be to patch up some plaster spots in my stairwell and paint that. I'd like to try stripping the paint off the railing and see if I can stain at least the handrail. If it's truly awful under there I can always just paint it over again. And must get a window well cover for the basement.

Other than house garbage and algebra, I did get to do a few social things, too. Saw Millions and Layer Cake this weekend. Had a couple of beers with friends twice. Met a friend for Thai for dinner last night. Drove to Annapolis to see Grandude in the hospital Sunday. He was all morphined up and still apologizing that he wasn't "more entertaining." What, he's supposed to juggle in the hospital bed?

Am reading "Sex, Drugs and Cocoa Puffs" and fed a little of my Netflix jones. Not a bad weekend, even with the algebra.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!