Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Falsely Alarmed

2005-03-09 - 10:02 a.m.

Driving home last night I saw a sight that made my heart drop. As I was driving down my street towards my house, I suddenly saw my whole block was swarming with emergency vehicles. There were two fire engines and numerous other emergency vehicles and cars with flashing lights. A guy in a neon uniform was diverting traffic so I had to park around the corner. A swarm of people were huddled on the sidewalk in front of my house.

The last time I came home from work and found a scene like this was the night my apartment burned down four years ago.

I couldn't see any smoke or obvious damage, but possibilities filled my head...fire, gas leak, medical emergencies...

But no. The fiasco was apparently all caused by an incident involving a bag of microwave popcorn two houses over. Burned microwave popcorn I could still smell in my house, it was that bad. What, did they set the microwave on 20 minutes instead of 2?

In any case, I was more relieved than I can begin to describe.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!