Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

fevered

2005-03-23 - 6:00 p.m.

My temperature has been sliding its way positive and negative on the mercurial number line, the absolute value of a fever. More organisms are living inside me than usual. My head feels off, like the moment after you�ve whipped your head from one side to the other, but all the time. I went back to work today, but headed home at 2:30 to rest.

I stripped off my clothes and buried in the covers and the warm weight of the cat nestling in the curves my legs made under the blankets, listening to the roofpounding of a spring rainstorm. I read and spent some time intending to sleep, but only managed to doze briefly. Apparently the decongestants thrumming through my system didn�t get the message that I was home to rest. It�s still restful, though, even out of bed, listening to the swooshing of the washing machine and waiting for the whistle of the kettle.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!