Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

jiggity jig

2005-06-30 - 12:54 p.m.

I have resurfaced, at least in body. Saturday my folks overruled sailing in light of the steaminess outside their walk-in freezer style A/C. Instead we spent some time catching up, wandered a B&N, watched some movies and had dinner out.

Sunday through Wednesday I was down in DC for a conference. It was nice hit a few of my old haunts. Sunday night I caught a bit of free time after sessions for Raku, an Asian diner heaven, for dinner and then Kramerbooks. I have violated my plan for not buying any new books. I couldn't help myself. My name is veralynn and I'm a litaholic.

Monday night the weather cooperated per my earlier request and we had a gorgeous dinner out on the rooftop terrace of the Kennedy Center. We were buzzed by helicopters numerous times, one of which was marked United States of America. The Canadians decided that Pres must have sent the secret service out for pizza, they forgot the cokes, had to go back for them, etc. Ended the evening as an honorary Canadian in the hotel bar. Zombiedom Tuesday morning.

Tues night got to meet up with several seldom-seen friends for drinks and dinner. Much fun and still managed to avoid the hotel bar on the way back in so I could get a touch of sleep.

Last night met up with another friend after the conference for a drink. On the way to drop him at the metro before driving back home I got a call from my uncle. He didn't realize I'd not heard that my grandfather is having surgery today. Stopped off for a bit to see my uncle and his girlfriend and then another detour to visit with my grandparents before roadtripping home again. Didn't make it in til almost midnight.

Cat was so excited about my return that he kept waking me all night to stand on me or just talk with me and demand attention NOW. It was quite sweet but I had a hard time appreciating it through my exhaustion. This was the wrong morning to have to be on a 7 am conference call ICK.

Today's been a deluge. I'm super-backlogged, have all sorts of new stuff going, am writing objectives for the next year including somewhat redefining my job, and this afternoon I'm having my performance review. Gah. Must get some iced coffee before that.

Sorry for the boring rambliness. The conference was great but my head's just sort of buried in the exhaustion at the moment and now with Grandad in the hospital for probably a week I think I'll have to roadtrip again this weekend instead of simply algebra and house projects as planned.

Anyway, I'm back. Hi!

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!