Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

House projects

2004-07-26 - 2:59 p.m.

I'm slowly but surely making some progress in getting the house to feel a bit more like I really do live there. Saturday W and I found a beautiful old dresser for what will be the guest room. That means there was finally enough place to put away the rest of the stuff that was still stuffed in boxes from the move back in November. I mixed up some lemon juice and olive oil to clean up the dresser. Even with just one quick rub-down, it's looking great. Will need a bit more elbow grease, a little more lemony oil, a touch of wood glue and maaaaaaaybe even a bit of sandpaper before it is done truly right, but it's an old piece and doesn't have to look perfect to be great.

I did some color-correction on a painting nightmare in the kitchen. What was always intended to be white, blue and green turned out to be white, blue and oh-my-god-I'm-blind-neon-green. So Saturday I finally hauled out the bucket of green paint, mellowed it out with some white and it's now just right. Even attacked a couple of baskets with the same green to hang up somewhere in the kitchen. Somehow I even avoided ending up with a green cat. He was interested, but miraculously stayed grey this time.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!