Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Keyed up

2004-05-14 - 10:38 a.m.

My big project for the evening, besides fighting with computers, ISP freakiness and painfully slow dial-up connections, became doorknobs.

I had always assumed the back door was keyed the same as the front since the seller only gave me one key. Just discovered last week that no, I just didn't have a key to be able to get in the back of my house. Lovely. So off to Home Depot again. Managed to find two doorknobs and two deadbolts, all keyed the same. Got all but one deadbolt done (as I'll need help and power tools for that one). I pulled my standard trick of installing something only to discover once done that a vital part in the middle was upside down. Somebody's got to write some good assembly instructions out there still. But I fixed that and wound up with relatively few leftover parts. :-) And now I can get in front or back door with the same key yay. Also now I have tons of spares that I can distribute around in case I lock my silly self out of the house again. :-)

Like every other smallish project I've done in the house, I managed to discover two more big projects I'm going to have to do now. Bah!

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!