Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

temptation to mail fraud

2003-07-22 - 10:33 p.m.

The envelope is staring at me
with a cocky, taunting, crooked grin
no teeth showing,
nearly a sneer, really
you know how hard it is
to look away when you're being stared at

i keep thinking of I Love Lucy - style options
wishing i could hold it
over a teakettle erupting steam
through the little kitchen
easing away the glue
sliding out the sheets of high-grade stock
(cream, with a high cotton content)
and peeking in without disturbing
the sharp creases of the folds
knowing whether there are celebrations ahead
or drowning of sorrows in those same glasses
and sliding my tongue back along its edge,
returning it to its own patient withholding

those who know me know that patience is not a word that tends to be used in the same sentence with my name. Today is day 2 of 6 of waiting.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!