Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

meteors and storms

2005-08-15 - 10:17 a.m.

I sandwiched the weekend between meteors and lightning. By comparison, the middle part was smooth and creamy as the inside of an oreo.

So now I'm back to a sandy blondish brown. It's pretty darned close to my real color so hopefully it won't look too bizarre as it grows out over the next year or so. It's still going to take me a while to get used to. Nobody's remarked on it yet so it's either a) horrible or b) not all that obviously different. I figure it's the latter.

Friday night we saw some fantastic meteors. There were a few small ones that looked like shooting stars and then there were a few big ones that were real show-stoppers streaming across half the sky. We had a great wind and some serious waves as we motored across the bay to our cove Friday night and then a nice little breeze to keep us cool most of the evening. It was pretty toasty when we woke so after a quick breakfast under the bimany we took off and motored back to the slip. No wind to speak of so sailing wouldn't have been a good option.

Spent the rest of Saturday with my folks. Took off for home Sunday morning, hit the gym, cooked up a pasta salad with goodies from a farm market in Maryland, cleaned up and headed out to study at a bookstore cafe for a few hours before my hair appointment. Spent the evening flaked out in the fans with the cat watching Born into Brothels and old episodes of A Fine Romance.

A tremendous storm shook the area late last night. I didn't check the basement for leaks this morning (deduct 2 homeowner points) but at least it knocked a few degrees off the temperature so sleeping improved dramatically.

2 more days til my exam. Keep your fingers crossed. If I pass this, I will be done, done, done with my degree. Just a mere 14 years after I started.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!