Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Overextended

2004-04-09 - 12:53 p.m.

Whew! I'm now officially acquainted with the epitome of procrastination...the tax extension. After buying the house last year, I of course can no longer do wonderful things like file my taxes using the telephone system or just filling out a 1040 EZ (how hard can a form be that can't even be bothered to spell out a four-letter word like EASY?). Now words like deductions and receipts are looming in big, scary letters bouncing around in the dark spaces of my head, swooping around my head and making me all too anxious.

So because I officially no longer had a clue what to do, I figured this year would begin my reliance upon the Paid Tax Professional to handle my tax issues. Except then I got wrapped up in crazy work projects that took away all my attention from any of my personal issues like taxes, eye appointments, dentists, and other personal business I usually procrastinate on. :)

I had the number of a tax guy the boyfriend uses every year. He brings his paperwork to a pub, has a beer with the guy and everything's done. Now there's a way of doing taxes that's right up my alley. Finally tried to call the guy (yes, okay, way later than I should have) last week, but couldn't get through. And then I found out over the weekend that he was going OUT OF THE COUNTRY. Egads! Now who in the tax business schedules a trip right before April 15th?? Eep!!

So add tax freaking to the already stressful scene around and I had started getting all doomsday edgy and have developed a periodic twitch on my forehead (I didn't know foreheads COULD twitch...don't ask me).

Blessedly, my guy is crazypatient with me and is a tax procrastinator himself, so he was well versed in the ways of the extension.

They actually make you estimate what you owe and will punish you if they later decide that wasn't a reasonable estimate. Now, honestly...if I had a CLUE what I'm really going to owe, I wouldn't be doing the darned thing in the first place! Sheesh! Oh well, I've come up with some ways to put in what I can justify for an estimate, gotten the sucker in and approved, and now can breathe easy, wait til the tax guy's back in the country and get around to it anytime before August. Phew!

Fabulously, I ought to be getting back a nice refund, so there won't be any issue of late payment fees or interest. Yay! I think that's going to be my roofing money there.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!