Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Part two: In Her Shoes

2005-09-12 - 12:30 p.m.

Part two of the previously interrupted weekend update.

So, In Her Shoes. The movie was filmed in Philadelphia and Delray, FL. It's officially going to premiere at the Toronto Film Festival, but last night there was a party followed by a cast and crew screening.

The party was at a downtown boutique. Models walked about the party holding out trays as if offering appetizers. Each tray held a single shoe. Some of the clothes in the shop were pretty gorgeous, but it's just as well that the prices were well beyond what I'd ever consider paying because nothing in the store would have fit me except perhaps a hat.

We sipped a bit of wine and champagne and nibbled a few miniature biscotti. I'd figured a 5:30 party would mean at least heavy appetizers, so I kicked myself for not having eaten at least a little something before going. We played with a silly toy like a magic 8 ball except instead of answers to a question, it offers little white lies. I talked with a director I'd love to have a chance for a nice, long chat over dinner with and his adorable young man from Kenneth Cole.

I never have been much for parties with strangers, so I think the fact that I made it through the whole thing without much of a desire to go hide somewhere is an accomplishment.

We made our way down to the Prince where they were holding the screening. They gave out little lunchbox-sized bags of Herr's popcorn, the closest thing to a real dinner. Curtis Hanson offered a nice intro and talked about how important a sense of place is to a film and how much he fights to be able to film in the actual cities where the story takes place. Of course this was just what people in the Philly film community love to hear, but he really didn't seem to be pandering...he came off as sincere, down to earth and just honestly in love with truly connecting films to locations. The novelist, Jennifer Weiner, who wrote the book on which the movie was based was present but didn't address the crowd. I'm sure she was fairly chatted out from signings throughout the pre-party.

After the movie there were cookies and milk in the lobby -- a very nice touch.

It was nice to give my favorite first-date dress an airing; goodness knows it doesn't get much use.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!