Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

professeur

2004-09-10 - 9:53 a.m.

Administrators at my college called me in at the last minute to ask me to facilitate a required but non-credit course for the women's college. They were unusually vague about the expectations and content of the course. They said that they wanted it to focus on things like travel, experience, culture, and campus life. In particular, one of the administrators excitedly encouraged me to cover material on what it would be like to go to France or Italy as many of the girls in the class would be going there for courses in the future.

I stammered my way through ideas of things I would cover and tentative notions for the curriculum. As I was finally about to admit that I really didn't understand why they were asking me to teach the course when I've not even graduated myself, they pulled out the big guns. Payment would be paid tuition for one course. I quickly accepted.

On my way out, I called W to meet me for a drink to celebrate. I walked through a huge field to an old historic building made of various colors of stone that had been turned into a pretty little bar and restaurant. We started on some wine, but when some of the patrons got loud and obnoxious, we edged out the french doors in the back into another field, dotted with occasional flowers, that was flooded with sun from low in the horizon. Everything was gold or shadows in that light.

Even now that I'm awake I'm still wondering what I would have taught those girls.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!