Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

A real evening

2004-05-07 - 10:26 a.m.

I felt like I was getting away with something when I left work at 5:00 yesterday. Of course, that's the time I'm *supposed* to get out, and I arrived an hour and fifteen minutes *early* but no matter. It was sunny and bright out, which feels like a rare thing indeed. I opened the sunroof and sang ridiculously off-key. I stumped the guys at the garden section of Lowe's (does any home improvement store actually carry each thing you want to pick up? ever?) and bought some herbs to grow in my little green bowling alley.

Back home in said bowling alley, I had to mow again. That saying, "growing like a weed," is far too true. With all the weeds that comprise my yard, I'm going to be a mowing fiend this summer. I decided to leave a swath near the fences to grow as it seems like the weeds there actually look pretty and I can pretend it's intentional.

While the cat romped through the yard, chasing bugs, I began setting up for my escapade in container gardening. Alas, I drastically underestimated the amount of dirt (oh, sorry, when you have to pay for it, it's "soil") I would need so I only got to set up the planter for the front of the house. I can't believe I have to make yet another stop in the garden department to finish this stuff.

I love the feeling of digging through the fresh soil with my bare hands, feeling the cool earth sifting through my fingers. Now accepting bets on how long until everything in the front planter commits a brown and wilty suicide.

Later a friend came over and shared my stale beer (eep...that was from December. Time to restock) and I whipped up some linguini with artichoke hearts, seafood and pesto sauce. Mmmm. The cat escaped the yard during dinner, so we had to go hunting for him. I found him outside the back gate but wonder how far he went. Watched 1984 which in many places sounded far too much like soundbites from our news these days.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!