Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Ring-a-ding

2003-12-07 - 8:30 p.m.

Saw the liberty bell for the first time today. Well, I'd driven by it before, when you could still see it from Market Street, but this time I saw it up close. Close enough that you want to stretch your arm over those ropes and touch it. If it didn't weigh 2000 pounds, you could give it a good push and get it swinging. I liked that you can see all the things so many people have done over the years to try to fix it. All the evidence is visible where they tried to compensate for the crack. I also like that its flaw is what makes it so memorable...now there's a good model for accepting weaknesses as just a part of the package.

Now, I'm hanging with the cat for a bit. I like watching him curling up, tighter and tighter. Each time the heater clicks or I wiggle, he pulls himself into a smaller circle, until his front paws are holding his back feet in place along the top of his head and he tucks his nose in tight.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!