Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Scrub a dub

2004-04-06 - 2:25 p.m.

I admit I was WAY too domestic last night. After work and class, I finally had a few hours to do some long overdue housework and cooking.

I woke up this morning to a crock pot full of sauce and a hot loaf of french bread in the breadmaker. Appliances are our friends. They managed to save me from another grim lunch of cafeteria tuna salad sandwiches.

Who knew there was so much room on my nightstand without all the dirty dishes? Who knew all those clean clothes could fit in the wardrobe? Who knew there was a bottom to my kitchen sink or that the bathroom sink didn't have to be caked with toothpaste and soap residue?

Who knew ficus plants could drop THAT MANY freakin' leaves and still be alive. I got the thing months ago, took it home and potted it. Luckily the lady at the nursery warned me it would drop leaves for a while while it was adjusting...I certainly would have thought I'd killed it if she hadn't told me. But it seems to be neurotic. It wasn't just the adjustment to the house...it's still dropping forests of leaves I scoop up handful after handful. Walk by, it drops leaves. Look at it, it drops leaves. I'm sure the cat's figured ways to freak it out enough to shed madly. He loves playing with the brittle leaves all over the carpet.

In any case, I managed a real meal and my house doesn't quite look like a bomb went off anymore. Maybe just a small grenade. I'll take progress where I can.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!