Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Taming of the Brew

2005-05-26 - 9:45 a.m.

Tuesday I had a particularly long and chaotic day at work so I decided to have a blow-off evening. I checked showtimes and picked out a French flick that looked interesting (Look at Me) and headed straight from the office to the neighborhood of the theatre. The only problem with that neighborhood is that there's never been a spot near the theatre to stop for a coffee or a drink to await showtime or talk about the movie afterwards. As I was sort of fussing to myself about this fact again Tuesday night, I discovered that someone had finally done something about the problem! Wahoo! Right near the theatre is now a coffee shop called "Taming of the Brew." Coffee and cheesy Shakespearian puns, who could ask for more? Well, it got better. The place is wonderful and cozy and the owner, Colleen, was lovely and just fantastic to talk to. She just opened the place two weeks ago and has all sorts of plans to grow the business. We talked for over half an hour and I will now be a regular of Taming for sure. Yippee!

The movie was engaging and sweet if not exceptional. Headed home and finished reading The Windup Bird Chronicle. I just love Murakami.

My to-read shelf is now officially overflowing and it has a slight annex on the bottom shelf of my nightstand. I think I have to swear off bookstores for a while until I can at least get the to-read books down to just one row on a single shelf.

Last night I hit the gym, met up with M for a quick bite, re-read Kate Chopin's Story of an Hour and dug into the Te of Piglet before curling up in bed to listen to This American Life.

I really need to get serious about the algebra again but haven't even picked it up in almost 3 weeks. Tonight: must do at least a half hour of review.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!