Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

The true signs of summer

2005-06-23 - 10:22 a.m.

Last night the weather was so darned wonderful when I left work that I detoured on the way home to stop in the park with a blanket and my book. Immediately a wall of grey made a beeline for the area and thunder started rumbling. By the time I was about five pages in, the rain started pouring down, so home I went.

The lawn was too wet to mow (oh, darn, an excuse not to do that) so I let myself get lost in the book all evening instead. I made the first corn on the cob of the year for dinner last night. I love the squeaky sounds the husks make when I'm shucking the corn. I love when the water just starts to boil and the smell of old bay permeates the kitchen. And oh, I love eating a good ear of corn.

This morning while I was making a berry smoothie for breakfast I decided to fill the blender all the way and use the leftovers to make popsicles. I suppose it's now officially summer. Forget the silly old solstice...corn, crab feasts and popsicles are the true indicators.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!