Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

the weekendend

2004-03-22 - 3:18 p.m.

Friday night it seemed the obnoxious of the world were trying to frustrate us on purpose. First, the bf got into an incident with an inappropriate comment from a bus driver.

Then we tried to get a drink (translate: drink, sit, luxuriate in each other's company, talk, make eye contact with each other and swoon. perhaps fiddle with a cocktail ornament), but the place was so cram-packed with the corporate happy hour crowd that we had to get out of there. Well, to be totally honest and elaborate, it was so bad that I got really edgy and flustered in my not-quite-claustrophobia but creeped-by-bumping-crowds sort of way that keeps me out of the malls during the holidays.

So then we went to the movies and were surrounded by teenagers having full-volume conversations, jumping around from cluster of friends to cluster of friends, texting on their phones, and ummmmm making orchestral maneuvers in the dark right there in the row in front of us (which somehow the bf didn't see).

At the end of the movie, one of the kids sitting behind us, who'd been talking through the whole thing, had the nerve to ask the bf what the movie was about. I thought he was gonna climb over the seats and offer a non-verbal response.

Saturday we kept the wolves at bay. I did piles of homework and went with the bf and the kids to catch a bite to eat in Old City. After some great crab pad thai and unreasonable amounts of the skinniest shoestring fries you've ever seen, we dashed back out to the burbs to split all directions. I met up with a friend and went BACK into Old City to see Peter Himmelman...always a funny, strange, wonderful show. Had a great time goofing and relaxing, even despite more pushing crowds. We were situated in a spot where they normally have an aisle, but they'd not left enough space, so everyone passing rammed their butts into my lap. Most of the butts in that place were not of the sort that this was ok by me.

Sunday piles more homework, a drive with the sunroof open, got a free lawnmower (yay!), got the cabling to hook my pod into my home stereo (yay!), and even finally got some shelves to put up in my basement for storage. Started getting some of the piles of boxes out of the way down there as I start readying to make the spare bedroom actually functional.

Hm. This is far more lucid and factual than I normally like to be here. I guess my brain's been too many other places to really do it right. My head is soquadro.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!