Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

-

2005-11-20 - 3:08 p.m.

I was such a slacker yesterday. I got up earlyish, intending to get more done with my day that way. Instead I got more reading and loafing done. I got inspired and took a shower, thinking that would be the beginning of my motivation and that I'd go run some errands, but then racked out again and goofed some more.

I baked a loaf of honey wheat bread in the breadmaker, filling the house with wonderful fresh bread scent. I watched the rest of the DVD I'd started Friday night, In Cold Blood, a bit ironic the same night the judgment came out on Robert Blake. Watching him play a murderer before the fact...creepy for sure, as if he weren't already quite creepy enough. I read a good chunk of Wicked. I even dozed off for a nap. I spent some time getting attacked by the cat.

Finally in the evening I got my act together and ran some errands. They were super-fast since many stores mysteriously empty out on a Saturday night when the rest of the world's out having fun instead of picking up plastic window insulation. Mystery, that. Came home and wrote a few hundred words before heading out to see Shopgirl.

Today was good. I got up and had coffee while putting together a pot of veggie chili into the crock pot. I'm trying out a new recipe, though not even sticking with that, and using it as a way to clear out a beer that's probably too old to want to drink but should be just fine to cook with. The chili aroma's now taken over the fresh bread smell. Did a grocery run and then went off for brunch. My uncle, his girlfriend and her (grown) kids were in town for a wedding. I took them into Philly for brunch at the Standard Tap. I've always intended to go there for brunch and now I wil surely be returning. I had a mimosa, an omelette, some pan biscuity thing, and some of the best damned potatoes I've ever had. A couple of folks at the table had sliders: big burgers with fried eggs on top plus onions and all the trimmings and fries on the side. Cholesterol special but it looked just right after their long night of wedding reception and post-reception bar time.

And now cat and I are loafing on the sofabed, pulled out in the living room, procrastinating again. If I get a good chunk of writing done, maybe I'll take myself out to see Walk the Line or something tonight. And there will be chili or chili mac for dinner.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!