Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

the 2006 meme

2006-12-28 - 5:18 p.m.

1. What did you do in 2006 that you�d never done before? Walked across the Golden Gate Bridge, toured the Barnes Foundation, broke down a door, saw the Kennedy Space Center, Savannah, the Outer Banks, the Volvo Ocean Race and the new Air and Space Museum at Dulles, made the killer tiramisu cheesecake, went to a strip club for a male �revue� (with the bonus other new thing of doing a shot out of a g-string ahem), joined a political party, participated in the Philadelphia International Gay & Lesbian Film Festival, attended the Fringe Festival, volunteered on election day, joined a CSA, joined match.com (and had it work!), laced a woman into a corset (heh). And I�m sure a million other things that aren�t coming to mind at the moment.

2. Did you keep your new year�s resolutions, and will you make more for next year? I didn�t make any specifically for the year, but I did scratch some things off my life to-do list, so that works for me. Think I might give some resolutions a whirl this year as deadlines do help.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth? No

4. Did anyone close to you die? No

5. What countries did you visit? Canada

6. What would you like to have in 2007 that you lacked in 2006? A handle on my finances, a healthier body, a driving creative challenge.

7. What dates from 2006 will remain etched upon your memory, and why? See #1 above. ;-)

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year? Ummmm. Don�t know.

9. What was your biggest failure? Ummmm. Don�t know.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury? yup

11. What was the best thing you bought? Hmm, probably dinners/drinks with my favorite folks.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration? My friends

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed? I think W still leads on that account.

14. Where did most of your money go? Mortgage payments

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about? Come on, what don�t I get really excited about?

16. What song will always remind you of 2006? Imogen Heap�s Hide and Seek or Gnarls Barkley�s Crazy

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
 a) happier or sadder? 
b) thinner or fatter? 
c) richer or poorer? Happier, about the same (I think), richer

18. What do you wish you�d done more of? Writing

19. What do you wish you�d done less of? Watching TV

20. How did you spend Christmas? With family

21. Did you fall in love in 2006? I sure found a nifty special someone

22. How many one-night stands? None

23. What was your favorite TV program? I finally discovered Firefly. #2 I also finally discovered Freaks and Geeks.

24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn�t hate this time last year? No

25. What was the best book you read? Hmm, probably jPod.

26. What was your greatest musical discovery? Dresden Dolls, Imogen Heap

27. What did you want and get? A nifty special someone

28. What did you want and not get? A Macbook

29. What was your favorite film of this year? Probably Quinceanera

30. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? Worked, had lunch with Leeenda and dinner with Meekay (plus a party the next night). I turned 34.

31. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? Probably having more of a creative drive. That seemed to be on hiatus much of the year.

32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2006? Bwah hah! I have a concept?! Of course, starting to go to goth clubs has brought black clothing and fishnets (including the purple ones) into heavy wardrobe rotation.

33. What kept you sane? My friends.

34. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? None comes to mind.

35. What political issue stirred you the most? The war, the election

36. Who did you miss? So many people, friends and family who are too far away or gone.

37. Who was the best new person you met? I met some fabulous new friends this year and Meekay of course.

38. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2006. I don�t think there were many new lessons...but I think I got a better handle on some that come around repeatedly.

39. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year. I get by with a little help from my friends. Mmm, gonna try with a little help from my friends...

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!