Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

pain in the neck (and back)

2007-01-04 - 10:50 a.m.

I'm one of those stubborn folks who puts off going to the doctor. I know I shouldn't, but when you're somebody who lives with a lot of pain, you just get used to it and shrug things off.

Finally I decided it's time to give in and try something different for my back problems. I went to the GP yesterday and she was really helpful. She gave me the referral for physical therapy I was hoping for, plus gave me plenty of good tips and asked me to try muscle relaxers at night for a while.

I've been resisting the idea of the pills, but she convinced me that it would be smart to let the muscles really relax so we can get the spasms to settle down.

So last night I had a muscle relaxer and a lovely back massage from Meekay*. Let me tell you, that was a beautiful combination. I slept wonderfully and woke up without all the soreness I've been having when I wake. It's still hurting some, but it's far improved from how it's been.

Now to schedule the first PT session. Progress!

* back rubs are cheaper and have more pleasant side effects than muscle relaxers.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!