Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

amuse your bouche

2005-08-03 - 8:28 a.m.

Last night from 5 - 6:30 I for the most part managed to pretend I wasn't sitting at my desk so I could get some studying done. Then there was an hour-long conference call and another hour of studying at my desk until DJ was ready to leave and catch some dinner.

Hit a spot in my neighborhood that I've been meaning to try since it opened sometime last year. I've actually even recommended it based on things I'd read about it, but hadn't been myself. They started with an amuse-bouche of a chickpea bruschetta on a very crisp little crust. Next up was a wonderful beet salad, all cool and citrusy. Then I moved on to a half-portion of spinach and lentil fricasse, just-wilted and in a simple, delicate sauce with little triangles of tempeh. Dessert was imported orange sorbet served in the skin. Wonderful meal and they actually had some pretty affordable options on the menu. I think mine ended up in the $25-30 range total.

Up early again for more beating my head against the Sbux wall getting equation after equation wrong. Grr.

I got great news last night, though. If I don't manage to pass this test, they'll let me continue into the fall. Hopefully I'll pass first time through and be done, but it's nice to know that if I screw up I'm not entirely screwed.

If I pass, I think I'm hitting a bar in my cap and gown. Just cause I can.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!