Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

the day the music died

2005-08-19 - 2:33 p.m.

Two related memes going around, both to do with top 100 lists of songs from particular years*...one from the year you're born and one from the year you graduated high school.

I'll spare you the full lists but the interesting thing I found when I looked up the lists was that I was hard-pressed to find 6 from my graduation year that I would even consider listening to instead of changing the station if they were to come on the radio. I probably knew about a dozen of the songs at all.

Yet in my birth year (1972) there were plenty of songs that I'd listen to. The song that was number one on the day I was born was American Pie, which probably explains a lot. Born as the country was lamenting the day the music died.

*locatable at the bottom of this page.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!