Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

a night at the hospital

2005-08-22 - 10:40 a.m.

Completely shattered today.

Mom ended up back in the emergency room Friday. Although her outpatient surgery went fine Tuesday, it seems that a loop of her intestine tried to make an escape through the hole they'd made in her abdomen for the surgery. It kinked like a hose and got stuck. Saturday they had to operate and cut that section out.

So what was supposed to be a pretty easy heal, all outpatient, is now far more significant. She'll be in the hospital for at least a week and may not even be eating solid food yet when they let her go.

I drove down to be there and spent the night in the hospital room with her Saturday night. Luckily they have little pull-out couches in the hospital rooms so I didn't have to sleep sitting up. Nice arrangement. Along the way we discovered that she doesn't have the receptors for morphine, so it was doing her no good. Took a few hours to get some replacement pain meds in her. What a difference.

Went to bed early last night but I am still super-sleepy. Figures it's a busy week at work. Foo.

My left eye has been twitching periodically since last week. It's driving me batty.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!