Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

This is not a test

2005-07-07 - 12:23 p.m.

It's nice to know that my personal version of the emergency response system kicks in automatically.

I woke freakishly early this morning to get some work done before a 7 am conference call and so didn't get to start my day with my usual listen to the news on NPR. So at 7 the Australians told me of bombs and London. I wanted to slam down the phone and immediately make sure that Si was okay. I wanted to turn on the radio and the television and infoseek. That's the way I calm down when disasters happen, be it a bombing near a loved one or a fuzzy health diagnosis. When you can't help and can't be in control, you can at least be armed with the knowledge. But I knew I had to do the call and that it would likely take a bit to get hold of Si anyway.

His email was waiting for me as soon as I could log on to check on him. "I'm okay, no need to worry baby." There's not enough oxygen here for drawing that deep a sigh of relief.

My mind keeps flashing to Jimmy on Saturday night in his Underground t-shirt. I'm picking through images on the web and feeding the infoneed and longing to be back on the streets of London.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!