Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Have-tos

2004-05-17 - 9:55 a.m.

Got through lots of have-tos this weekend and still managed to squeeze some fun in. Didn't get anywhere near as much work done on my final paper as I needed to, but oh well. I've got until Wednesday for that.

Friday night I hit the produce store and stocked up on fresh goodies. Hit the hammock with my book for a while, then W came over and we chatted our way through a pitcher of lemonade with limoncello. Made dinner and then I made an offhand comment about considering moving the couch to the other side of the room for the summer to better catch the crossbreeze and before you know it, W's directing the furniture moving. :) He is a man of action. The living room turned out well though my front room now looks even weirder than usual...still have to tweak that.

The rest of the weekend I did a lot of have-tos. Homework, a few errands and a whole lot of housework and yard stuff that desperately needed to be done. I don't know how I can spend that much time on the house and have it still look a mess. bah. But I did at least pull out my winter clothes and get them sorted to put away so there's actual room for my summer stuff now. Just need to figure out some place to put them.

My box fan committed suicide yesterday. Wasn't anywhere near it and it tipped over and started making a horrible crashing noise. It broke a blade off and now doesn't work right. Just bought the sucker, too. boo.

Made a quick stop by a friend's 50th birthday party Saturday night. Her brothers had flown down from Quebec to surprise her, which was amazingly sweet. Their yard is so perfect for such a big party. They even had a separate terrace set back into some trees where they set up a whole band of guests (and the host's hubby) to play. Twinkle-lights, loads of green and piles of friends. Unfortunately I had to head home and read a chapter on third party mediation of conflict (wheee) and W had to head off to his weekly jazz gig so we didn't get to stay as long as we'd have liked. Heck, the water guns hadn't even arrived.

I even put up curtains in the front soon-to-be-guestroom. Makes it look a bit more like somebody actually lives there.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!