Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

feeding the inner wanderlust

2005-06-20 - 1:41 p.m.

Friday night 5:00 felt like someone had just rung the schoolbell on the last day before summer. I couldn't wait to hit the door. D and I headed off to happy hour for rum drinks, plantain nachos and some catching up. He joined me for the nephew birthday errand-running, too, which helped a lot when I couldn't find what I was looking for.

On the way home I checked my voicemail and ended up detouring to a friend's house for a glass of wine and a walk over to the movie theater to see Cinderella Man. Yes, another night that dinner was alcohol and snack food. Hurrah. Vera Pan?

Saturday morning came too early but I headed out early to Maryland for a couple of long-overdue hours with a friend and then a few hours of cousin time. Fed my Maryland craving and got a huge lump crabcake sandwich for dinner, with a stoli orange and tonic and a great book for the extreme decadence. Racked out at home for a while with some season 4 West Wing episodes before bed.

Sunday I stayed in my sarong all day, reading, relaxing and doing a few things I had to catch up on around the house. Finally jumped in the shower and turned into a social human again early evening and went to see Howl's Moving Castle. Beautiful and funny, but a bit overdone on the saccharine factor.

The book I'm reading is about a woman who, at the age of 48, decided to become a nomad. She has no permanent address and has figured out how to travel the world and live with people in all sorts of different cultures. Swoon. Would love that. In my dreams last night I was living in Mexico. I think I'm going to join Servas next year or so and take some trips. I never knew they existed and that's exactly the sort of travel that I love. I don't want to do all the tourist stuff...I want to know what it's really like to live in a place. Need to find some folks who've travelled this way before to brain-pick a bit.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!